| Older
| Rings
| G-Book
| Bio
| Profile
| Notes
| Design
|

donning green straightjacket
Wednesday, May. 26, 2004 @ 9:45 a.m.

i gave money to a group of politicians today.

and i didn't do it for irony, or a laugh, or to see the greedy look on their faces. i don't know where the money will go or whether my contribution was significant or if i get a break on it at the end of the fiscal year. i gave them my credit card number. i gave them my street number and constituency number and cell phone number. and my email, and i volunteered four hours a week to help them if they require help of such an inconsequential amount that i would be able to do it.

but i've been planning to join the green party for a while and the donation was only fifty dollars. they won't win. i've been voting green or advocating officially refusing ballot for each election since i, you know, became a legal thinking person. since a year before they said i could drink legally which was, coincidentally, about thirteen years after i had my first drink.

a green vote isn't just a vote for the bunnies and flowers and freshwater resources. it's also a vote for the responsible and somehow fundamentally democratic system you never knew you didn't have.

all of which means jack, considering Canada is happily situated on the northern border of the unstoppable McSuperpower, which will no doubt counteract any radical political movement with sanctions and bombing...and by tightening their good old-fashioned capitalist control on our country until they have squeezed me and my green party (whom I love), back out of power. and to death.

<< the past or my future>>