| Older
| Rings
| G-Book
| Bio
| Profile
| Notes
| Design
|

a short, awkward call from a long time friend
Monday, Jul. 28, 2003 @ 2:42 a.m.

I got a call from an old friend today. I'll call her Lindsay. Because that's her name.

Anyway, it turns out Lindsay's in town for a few days and called to talk, and to find out if I'll be busy before Tuesday. I won't be, but I wasn't sure how to handle it. Usually I'd jump on an opportunity to get into the sun, because let's be honest--I have nothing else to do.

But things are complicated like that.

Our friendship began, and lasted through, the final two years of highschool. Lindsay would tell me my timetable in the morning and I would try to make her laugh. We decorated our lockers with the same fake flowers and magnets. She was honest and personable and I was a black sheep with nobody else to trust. We did everything together. Shiny, shiny, shiny.

But when we came to the very same university, there appeared an unbridgable chasm between our residences. Like idiots, we both wanted our space. So we took a whole lot.

Amy is now my dearest friend, and she and I weren't nearly as close as Lindsay and I were...not even in the beginning. And Amy lives in Ottawa, but I still make the effort. Also, when I talked to Jeanette the other day on messenger--like with Amy--even though it had been months since we'd spoken...it was natural.

The friendships in which I foresee a lasting future never last. The ones where I learn from the start to tolerate interaction at intervals always do. With Kris, with Sarah and Jess, with Kirsty, with Ed, with Paul...all the way back to grade three when Katie moved to Penn.

I'm a damn wreck at judging my future. But by god can I ever spot past trends.

Once again, I possess the less marketable of two skills.

=)

<< the past or my future>>