| Older
| Rings
| G-Book
| Bio
| Profile
| Notes
| Design
|

A Lullaby for a New World Order
Wednesday, Jun. 18, 2003 @ 4:39 p.m.

We should all want the best possible world. I can't get my mind around the reasons younger dudes are the only ones who imagine life with no boundaries. And I don't know why naiivity is synonymous with being unrealistic. Or why nothing can be done to change things. I always have a choice, I know I do. So do you.

My ambitions should not be tossed aside for being idealistic.

If when I get older I consent to live in the same monotonous and masochistic society as people do today, that would be a problem. As I see it, those are the ambitions that sould logically be disregarded for being unattainable, unnecessary and unwise.

In my life I have heard more times than I can count coloquial, uninspiring, and dully cliche statements that stumble roughly over the concept that 'children are the future'. Well, damn it, they're the present as well. Sure they grow...but who cares about that? Every one of them could get run over by a truck tonight and there would be no growing up at all! It would be unlikely, of course, if not completely suspicious if it happened...and realistically most will end up being grown-ups...but look--if we're giving them the future, why not give them the future they want? Why not give us a say, now? Why not stop blowing us off because we haven't been around as long as you? May I say that that is a very childish breed of discrimination. May I also say that I hope you love the me I am instead of the person you hope I become.

And back to business; sure the things I want don't fit the society in which I am currently living...but the reason they don't is that your world--this bullocks of a place we spend our days--won't let them.

It feels like when I tell you something I'm thinking, but when you tell me something it's about the weather. I wish you would say what you mean, not what you see, not what you do. Tell me what you think. Be realistic as creatively as possible: reality doesn't have to stay stagnant, and it doesn't need to pertain to what you sense.

It seems that the only reason I'm not a new-world realist, why my ideas are passed off as idealistic (read: naiive) instead of logical, and why I don't have a voice to tell you all of it is that you are so afraid to help me that you won't do anything but tune me out.

<< the past or my future>>