| Older
| Rings
| G-Book
| Bio
| Profile
| Notes
| Design
|

wacko-daddy
Sunday, Jun. 15, 2003 @ 10:28 p.m.

Of course, political angst isn't all I have in my system. I also have some day-old Chinese food and millions of tired cliche's that I'll use when I run out of real things to say. And a limerick my father wrote for my grade four poetry booklet.

*

there once was a tree in the park

who was very afraid of the dark

so when night things came near

he would tremble with fear

and then scare them away with his bark

*

My father, you see, has refined his particular brand of eccentricity into a delicate art. This year he turned seventy-one, and stubbornly declared all he wanted was an old western called "Lonesome Dove" and some mens knee-high brown socks.

For an old guy, he's sure got style.

So much style in fact, that the mesh baseball cap he wears to mow the lawn has come back around the fashion circle. I saw a twenty-something thugg wearing one sideways over a bandana this week. May I just say...what the hell?

And seeing as today is fathers day, even though he thinks the Internet is the devil and thus, will never, ever see this post...

I wish him the best from this modern and intangible part of the world. Sent with love.

<< the past or my future>>